Change language
Sidebar content Main content

St. David's Memorial Church

To enquire about this item(s) please contact us

Remove from selection
Add to selection

Interior, St David's Memorial Church, Alexandra Street, Kirkintilloch was designed and built in 1924 by architects Dr. P. MacGregor Chalmers and Mr J. Jeffrey Waddell. The church was a gift from Mrs. David Paton Thomson in memory of her father John Scott who had been a Deacon in St. David's Free Church from 1843-1900. The church cost approximately £20,000 and was built in the 'late Scottish Gothic' style. It could seat 624 worshipers. It was constructed from Ashlar stone and was entirely hand tooled. The Chancel floor was made from marble and the wooden fitments were Austrian Oak. The Chancel's stained glass window depicted the risen and ascending Christ. The church was opened in 1926 by Rev. G. H. Morrison, Moderator of the General Assembly.

AIS uses strictly necessary cookies to improve the user experience.
This AIS also uses analytical cookies.